Is Marijuana Still Illegal in North Carolina?
Although polls show that over 70% of North Carolina voters support the legalization of marijuana, it still remains illegal in the Tar Heel State.
Recent polls also show that about two thirds of Americans support the legalization of medical marijuana, and about half of U.S. voters support the legalization of recreational marijuana.
The Senate in North Carolina passed a medical marijuana bill earlier this year, but it has since stalled in the House.
Although lawmakers have not come to an agreement regarding the legalization of medical marijuana in North Carolina, it is still one of 30 states that have started the process of decriminalizing cannabis. This means that certain offenses relating to marijuana no longer carry jail sentences.
While North Carolina residents anxiously await the passage of the bill, it is important to be aware of the penalties that still result from criminal actions relating to marijuana.
Penalties and Fines
Some of the misdemeanor offenses currently listed in state law include:
Possession of up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana for personal use
Possession of up to .15 ounces of hash or concentrates
Use, possession, sale, delivery or manufacture of paraphernalia
These misdemeanors usually result in a $1000 fine or up to 45 days in jail.
Marijuana possession will become a felony when a person is found with 1.5 ounces for personal use, or has the intent to sell or grow the substance.
It is also illegal to drive under the impairment of any substance in North Carolina, including marijuana. THC can be found through conducting a drug test, but it is difficult to prove whether it caused impairment because the drug can stay in a person’s system for weeks.
Someone who uses marijuana often could test positive for THC on a drug test for up to 30 days. If you refuse a drug test, your license could be suspended for up to one year.
A DWI, when coupled with another offense such as reckless driving or fleeing to elude arrest, could result in a two year jail sentence and a fine of up to $4,000.
Be Ready for North Carolina’s Medical Marijuana Program Before it Gets Here
If you think medical marijuana might benefit you, schedule an evaluation with us! Our physicians can determine whether or not you will qualify for your own North Carolina marijuana card. We can fit you in just as soon as North Carolina’s medical marijuana program is up and running.
If you don’t qualify, we will refund you the entire cost of your appointment! You have nothing to lose.
Make sure to contact your lawmakers and let them know you are waiting for the medical marijuana program! Putting pressure on them is the best way to ensure that the bill gets passed in a timely manner.
Doctors Who Care.
Relief You Can Trust.
Helping everyone achieve wellness safely and conveniently through increased access to medical marijuana. Our focus on education, inclusion, and acceptance will reduce stigma for our patients by providing equal access to timely information and compassionate care.
If you have any questions, call us at (833) 781-7320, or simply book a medical marijuana evaluation to start getting relief you can trust today!
Check out North Carolina Marijuana Card’s Blog to keep up to date on the latest medical marijuana news, tips, and information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to join the medical marijuana conversation in North Carolina!